5 Books To Read If You Love Parties

I love planning parties and having themed events, but when I’m not partying, writing or going to the gym I love to spend my spare time reading. There’s nothing like perusing a bookshelf and thinking about the endless adventures you can have – kind of like planning a party. Because I would like to share with you one of my other past times, I thought I would introduce you to five books you can read if you love parties like I do.

Screen Shot 2016-08-03 at 11.07.03 am.png

1. Everyone Worth Knowing by Lauren Weisberger

This novel, Everyone Worth Knowing, was also written by the author who also wrote The Devil Wears Prada, was given to me by someone I used to be friends with at a time when I didn’t know what I wanted to be and what career path I wanted to take, but this book is the reason I wanted to become a party planner in the first place.

The story is centralised around main character Bette Robinson, who lands an impressive job at Manhattan’s hottest PR Firm and suddenly she finds herself planning the hottest parties this side of the Eastern coast. But when she starts getting involved in the life of one of America’s hottest stars and she ends up in the gossip column she starts to discover that there isn’t any lines between her personal and professional life.

This story is a rom com with some extravagant parties, and is a great beach read, so I very happily put it as number one of my party reading book list due to the significant impact it had on my career. Let me know if it effected you in the same way, or you felt the need to go out and hit the clubs after reading it!

maxresdefault

2. The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

This novel is magical – literally! The Night Circus is about two magicians pitted against each other in the ultimate test of strength and talent in the backdrop of a mysterious black and white circus where the performers never age and the illusions are always realer than they appear. As the characters in the novel unfold their stories and their destiny’s, the two magicians fall in love under impossible circumstances.

The Night Circus was one of the most popular novels of 2011 and continues to be a well-loved story. While the magic and whimsy aren’t necessarily party related, the backdrop and themeing of each element would make a perfect theme for a party, and boasts several magical events – such as a monthly midnight dinner party dripping in elegance – throughout the novel, making it my number two party related book to read.

Screen Shot 2016-08-03 at 11.09.14 am.png

3. A Curious Invitation: The 40 Greatest Parties in Literature by Suzette Field

This book was given to me by my husband as our first year anniversary gift of the day we got married in order to symbolise paper. Because of this, it is one of my most prized tomes and why it’s reached number three of my party related books to read.

A Curious Invitation is a little different to a fictional story – Suzette Field, a master party planner and writer out of London – chronicles forty of the greatest parties and events ever told throughout literature and includes everything from an orgy in Gravity’s Rainbow, Edgar Allan Poe’s work of poetry, the flying party above an unknown planet in The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, the sheer brilliance captured in The Great Gatsby, and even the birthday party of Bilbo Baggins from The Hobbit.

Suzette Field lists everything of importance in these parties, from food and drink to entertainment and dress code. It’s everything you need to have a similar themed party, and I guarantee you will never look at a party written in a novel the same way again. I would probably recommend reading this book before The Night Circus though, just so you can get the full scope of the extravaganza!

Screen Shot 2016-08-03 at 11.08.31 am

4. Party Girl by Rachel Hollis

I must confess – I haven’t read Party Girl by Rachel Hollis as of yet, but it is on my to read list and it should be on yours! In a similar idea to Lauren Weisberger’s Everyone Worth Knowing, Party Girl is about a girl named Landon Brinkley who lands an internship for an event planner in Hollywood and finds herself in million of dollars worth of parties for the elite and the celebrity. But when the reality of the business reveal itself in sinister ways, Landan must consider what is important in the grand scheme of things.

Party Girl seems like an appropriate novel if you’re looking for a good beach read to match Weisberger’s, and is also a great way to get a peek into the “real” and “unreal” dramas of planning events for the demanding. Let me know if you have read this one for yourself.

TPC Hero Image

5. Secrets of a Party Planner by Courtney Carr

Well, it wouldn’t be my blog if I didn’t plug my own eBook Secrets of a Party Planner, now would it? If you want to know the in’s and out’s of planning a party, as well as get expert tips on inspiration and ideas, then head over to my Shop page and pick up this eBook straight to your email. It’s only 40 pages, so you’ll be able to breeze through it pretty quickly, and your party planning will be all the better for it.

Let me know if you read this books, or if you have any more to add of your own and maybe we can start a book club! Email me at thepartyconnection@hotmail.com or use the contact page on the website.

Advertisements

Party Over Here! Leave A Reply...

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s